Skip Nav

Iowa Bankers Return to D.C., Meet With Congressional Delegation

10 28 DC Trip

This week, the Iowa Bankers Association made its first trip to Washington, D.C., since before the pandemic. IBA staff and members of the board of directors met with Iowa’s congressional delegation to discuss issues important to the banking industry.

On Tuesday, the group met with Sens. Charles Grassley and Joni Ernst. On Wednesday, they met with Reps. Ashley Hinson, Cindy Axne, Randy Feenstra and Mariannette Miller-Meeks. In each of the meetings the group provided an economic update and discussed the Biden Administration’s IRS tax reporting proposal, tax equity and regulatory issues, including the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau’s small business reporting proposal and the Biden administration nominee for Comptroller of the Currency.

Pictured (from left): IBA Advocacy and PAC Coordinator Jenica Lensmeyer, Mike Olson (Lincoln Savings Bank, Grinnell), IBA Chair Aaron Kness (Iowa State Bank, Fairfield), Peg Scott (Union State Bank, Greenfield), IBA Senior Vice President Sharon Presnall, Beau Gamble (Dentons Davis Brown, Des Moines), IBA Government Relations Coordinator Mike Rozenboom, Pat Gebel (Fidelity Bank & Trust, Waverly), Melissa Ballard (First Iowa State Bank, Albia), Jim Plagge (Bank Iowa, West Des Moines), IBA Treasurer Kim Greenland (City State Bank, Mount Ayr), IBA President and CEO John Sorensen, IBA Chair-Elect Matt Lujano (Westside State Bank, Westside), and IBA Past Chair Brad Lane (Security Savings Bank, Gowrie).

Industry News

Media Contact

Jenica Lensmeyer

Vice President, Marketing and Industry Relations