Skip Nav

Iowa Bankers Association Presents Five Student Athlete Achievement Awards at Iowa High School Girls Basketball State Tournament

DES MOINES, IOWA (March 4, 2024) — Five Iowa high school seniors received a 2024 Iowa Bankers Association Student Athlete Achievement Award during the Iowa High School Girls Basketball State Tournament championships on March 1-2 in Des Moines. One student from each class was awarded a $1,000 scholarship from the IBA to the college of her choice.

Scholarship recipients included:

  • Class 1A: Isabella Roorda, Montezuma High School, Montezuma
  • Class 2A: Tyme Boettcher, Panorama Community High School, Panora
  • Class 3A: Paige Hilgerson, Des Moines Christian School, Urbandale
  • Class 4A: Emalee Vermeer, Sioux Center High School, Sioux Center
  • Class 5A: Grace Knutson, Cedar Falls High School, Cedar Falls

Scholarship recipients are selected each year based on their academic performance, athletic participation, leadership skills and community involvement.

“The Iowa Bankers Association is proud to recognize these remarkable high school seniors that are leaders on their teams, in the classroom and in their community,” said Jenica Lensmeyer, the IBA’s vice president of marketing and industry relations. “As long-time supporters of financial literacy, Iowa bankers are committed to helping Iowans reach their financial goals. We know that these scholarship recipients have a bright future, and we hope that they will continue to contribute to Iowa communities following graduation.”

For three decades, the IBA has sponsored the Student Athlete Achievement Award program, which has grown to honor student-athletes in football, basketball and wrestling. The IBA has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships since the program began.

*** Photos available upon request. ***

Industry News

Media Contact

Jenica Lensmeyer

Vice President, Marketing and Industry Relations